The Birth of Ana

Original.

Image

The Birth of Venus (La Naissance de Vénus) is one of the most famous paintings by 19th-century painter William-Adolphe Bouguereau. It depicts not the actual birth of Venus from the sea, but her transportation in a shell, as a fully mature woman, from the sea to Paphos in Cyprus. For Bouguereau, it is considered a tour de force. The canvas stands at just over 9 ft 10 in (3.00 m) high, and 7 ft 2 in (2.18 m) wide. The subject matter, as well as the composition, resembles the rather more famous rendition of this subject, Sandro Botticelli‘s The Birth of Venus, as well as Raphael‘s The Triumph of Galatea.

My Version.

Image

This my version. I wanted to contrast the idea of what “beauty” is, and how it was perceived before, when the original was made,  and how it is now. I have the idea that the media has a lot to do with this idea, and being really close to someone that suffers from an eating disorder, I wanted to portray, “Venus,” as a women suffering from this. In no means do I mean to offend anybody, It is just my perception of the topic.

3 thoughts on “The Birth of Ana

  1. I think it is brilliant. Good job!
    How big will your version be? 🙂

  2. Thanks! I’m glad you like it. My version will be 16 x 24 inches. couldn’t afford anything bigger than that.

  3. ARTD150 says:

    Reblogged this on ARTD150 and commented:
    Great changes! It adds to the story, taking a more contemporary look on beauty and body image. Great!

Leave a Reply

